top of page

Multitask? More like multidon't

When I was in high school I always tried to do many homework assignments at on time. My grades were affected by this. Even though my grades were affected, I kept doing my homework and classwork like that all through out high school.

According to Sarah Sparks, 13-18 year olds use six kinds of social media simultaneously through out the day, because of this the teens have a problem concentrating on the task or tasks that they need to complete. The brain cannot mentally be in to places at once. If it could it would be a case of split brain. It takes mili-seconds longer for the brain to be in two places rather than one place. Making the choice to multitask creates a bottleneck of information, much like multiple lanes of traffic being cut done to fewer lanes. Performance on memory tests and attention test taken by teens who do multiple things at a time are scored lower than teens who do not multitask. The scores were affected by teens who answered them immediately by 10%, which is equivalent to an entire letter grade. After answering the phone call, email, or text they then have to refocus on the task. The Marshmallow Test showed that The kids with better patience did better on the test than the kids that had little to no patience. People are not really multitaskers. They should not be taught this ability it is a gateway to bad decisions.

One of my experiences while multitasking is looking through my music on my phone to find a different song to listen to while driving. I have been doing this for a few months. It is a bad habit that I have developed. I have almost been in 4 different car accidents because of it. I am not proud of this and have been waiting until I have been at a stop light or in the parking space of the parking lot instead of driving down the road.

The 4 Quadrant matrix system is used to determine which tasks have the most responsibility, the most importance, and the most urgency. It is also used to sort tasks between importance and urgency to set more realistic long-term goals.it also determines which tasks are the most important on a daily basis and become the weekly to do list.

My time has mostly been used in Q4. I have watched many TV series. I have recently been on the phone having 30 -45 minute conversations with my relatives about events that are coming up. I have over slept by 30 minutes every day. I have gossiped with my friends over stupid things. I have been living in Q4 for way to long. I have started balancing my time better.

Works Cited

Sparks, Sarah D. “Studies on Multitasking Highlight Value of Self-Control.” Education Week. 12 May 2012. Web. 1 Mar 2016. <Studies of Multitasking Highlight Value is Self-Control>


bottom of page